The Schmidt-Burnham Log House, the oldest log structure in Cook County, is celebrating its reopening on October 2 from 2-4 PM. Guests will enjoy new exhibits, fascinating artifacts, a scavenger hunt, old-timey games, and more. All ages are welcome at this free event; masks are required.
The Log House will be open for self-guided tours from 2-4 PM beginning October 2 through November 21, 2021.
About the Schmidt-Burnham Log House
Built c. 1837, it was the longest occupied home in northern Illinois until the daughter of Anita Willets-Burnham gifted it to the Winnetka Historical Society in 2001. The Log House first opened to the public in 2006, and is on the National Register of Historic Places.
The Log House is named for the Schmidt family, who lived in the house from 1841 to 1870, and the Burnham family, who called it home from 1917 to 2001. It was originally part of a German immigrant settlement on Ridge Road near the present-day Indian Hill Club. The Schmidt family, the first documented residents, immigrated from Trier, Germany in 1939 and moved into the Log House by 1841. Decades later, Anita Willets-Burnham “discovered” the Log House while on a painting trip. She purchased the home in 1917 for $25 and moved it from Ridge Road by a horse-drawn wagon to 1407 Tower Road that same year. To ensure the Log House would be preserved, the Burnham family donated it to Winnetka Historical Society in 2001. The Historical Society moved the Log House to Crow Island Woods in 2003, where it remains today. The Winnetka Historical Society also conducts programs for school groups, clubs, and other organizations. Contact the Log House's Curator or call 847-446-0001 with inquiries.
Photo credit: The Winnetka Historical Society